Year 1

Year 1

Mrs K. Wilson

KS1 Teacher

Mrs Elliott

Teaching Assistant

The previous year children follow the foundation stage, early learning goals. These prepared them from moving on to key stage one and the objectives that they will be expected to achieve throughout the year. The progression form Foundation stage to Year one is structured to enable the children to build upon the concepts learned last year and extend them through the different areas of learning.

The National curriculum has eleven areas of learning. These are as follows: English (literacy), mathematics (numeracy), science, information and communication technology, geography, history, art, design and technology, music, physical education, personal, social and emotional education and religious education. The activities planned for the children are connected with each area’s objectives and enable the children to access each area. Our aim is to provide a broad and balanced curriculum for the children with as many experiences as possible.